Advanced Manufacturing Technologies

This area researches and optimises industrial production methods and puts them into practice. In the Smart Factory Lab, the research results of our research partners are put to the test in the production solutions of our industry partners.

AMT

atm-2

The research focus on Advanced Manufacturing Technologies (AMT) includes the new generative production process (3D printing for industrial applications). The focus is on metallic materials and their processes. The powder-bed and laser-cladding processes are our areas of specialisation in this field. A common factor of both processes is the melting of the metal powder using a laser beam to create a solid component. This method is also known as metallic 3D printing or Additive Manufacturing (AM). It is already being used in isolated cases for the mass production of high-tech components, for example in aerospace, energy, automotive, medical and dental technology as well as in mechanical and plant engineering. We have three 3D plastic printers and a metal 3D printer for titanium, stainless steel and aluminium. We also have a conventional machine for finishing pieces printed in 3D (milling, turning, grinding).

Head of Research

Dr. Felix Reinert, Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung und Forschungsleiter Advanced Manufacturing Technologies

Dr Felix Reinert,  Head of Research at Advanced Manufacturing Technologies. Dr Felix Reinert is a graduate micro technology engineer (EPFL Lausanne) and Dr. phil.-nat. Physics (degree at the University of Bern). In addition to this, he also has a teaching certificate in physics from the ETH Zurich. He has gained many years of experience at Alstom as a Cluster Manager in «Novel Manufacturing Technologies». He is the founder and CEO of Protoshape GmbH and co-founder and CTO of the startup UrbanAlps AG.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Advanced Manufacturing Technologies

Ce domaine de recherche étudie, optimise et met en pratique des processus de fabrication industriels. Dans le Smart Factory Lab, les résultats de recherche de nos partenaires de recherche sont transformés en solutions de production pour nos partenaires de l’industrie.

AMT

atm-2

Le domaine de recherche Advanced Manufacturing Technologies (AMT) comprend les nouveaux procédés de fabrication génératives (impression 3D pour des applications industrielles). Ce domaine est axé sur les matériaux métalliques et leur procédés. Les procédés à lit fluidisé ainsi que le Laser-Cladding sont nos spécialités. Ces deux méthodes utilisent un rayon laser pour fondre la poudre de métal et pour réaliser des pièces en dur. Ces méthodes sont également appelées impression 3D en métal ou Additive Manufacturing (AM) en anglais. Ces méthodes sont déjà utilisées isolément pour la production en série de pièces de haute technologie, comme p.ex. dans l’industrie aéronautique et spatiale, les techniques de l’énergie, de l’automobile, les domaines médicales et dentaires ainsi que dans la construction de machines et d’installations. Nous disposons de trois imprimantes 3D pour des maitères plastiques et d’une imprimante 3D pour le métal à savoir le titane, l’acier inoxydable et l’aluminium. Nous avons en outre une machine conventionnelle pour les travaux de finition des pièces imprimées en 3D (fraisage, tournage, rectifiage).

Responsable de la recherche

Dr. Felix Reinert, Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung und Forschungsleiter Advanced Manufacturing Technologies

Dr. Felix Reinert, directeur de recherche des Advanced Manufacturing Technologies Dr. Felix Reinert est ingénieur dipl. en micro-technique (EPFL Lausanne) et Dr. phil.-nat. physique (études à l’université de Berne). Il bénéficie en outre d’un certificat didactique en physique à l’EPF Zurich. Il a acquis sa longue expérience industrielle chez Alstom en tant que coordinateur des «Novel Manufacturing Technologies». Il est fondateur et CEO de Protoshape GmbH et cofondateur et CTO de la startup UrbanAlps AG.

Vous connecter avec vos identifiants

Vous avez oublié vos informations ?